Tag Archives: Group A

Kerala Announce Santosh Trophy 2014-2015 Squad

Kerala, Football, Association, Manjeri, Stadium, Payyanad, South Zone, Football, Soccer, Malappuram, SquadKerala Football Association has announced a 20 member squad that will participate in the 69th National Football Championship for Santosh Trophy due to start in Manjeri on 15th Jan.

Team consists of 11 new faces with KSEB player V.V Surjith leading the squad.

Team :

Usman Ashik, Johnson, Sajith, Sherin Sam, Suhair, Rahul D Raj, Nasaruddeen, Jobin Justin, Sreerag, Shaijumon, Jinshad, Shibinlal, Sandesh M, Jijo Joseph, Ashkar, Nishad, Mithun, Nikhil Soman

Coach : P.K Rajeev, Bino George

Karnataka Announce team for Santosh Trophy 2014-2015

Karnataka Football Association, Bengaluru, Bangalore, Santosh Trophy, NationalKSFA Announced the 20 members squad for the 69th Santosh Trophy Championship. Karnataka will play the South-Zone matches at MSDA stadium in Manjeri, Kerala. Veteran Xavier Vijayakumar is leading the team.

Team :

GKs : SMD Razak, MP Thomas

Defs : KB Nikhil Das, Prem Kumar, B V Chetan Kumar (VC), Vivekananda, R. Vijay

Mid : Xavier Vijaya Kumar (C), Prakash. B, R. Manivannan, M. Lokesh, P.A Anup Theres Raj, M. Sunil Kumar, Deepan P, Shahzad K.I

Forward: K Gopi, K Kaviarasan, P Pradeep Kumar, V Vinoth Kumar, Vinu K Varghese

Manager : S.T Bhoopal

Coach : J.L Andrew

Goal keeper coach : S.S Shahi

Santosh Trophy Final Round Fixtures and Results

Santosh Trophy, Football, South Zone, North-East Zone, East Zone, West Zone, North ZoneThe zonal preliminary rounds of Santosh Trophy 2014 concluded on 4th February and ten teams from different zones qualified for the final round to be held in Siliguri starting from 24th February. See the results from the Zonal Qualification Round here.

Ten teams that qualified are divided in two groups – A & B

Group A :

Uttarakhand, Mizoram, Kerala, Services, Maharashtra

Group B :

Railways, West Bengal, Punjab, Tamil Nadu, Goa

Group A Fixtures :

Date : 24th February


Mizoram – Kerala

3 - 1

Uttarakhand – Maharashtra

2 - 3

Date : 26th February


Kerala – Uttarakhand

4 - 0

Services – Maharashtra

0 - 1

Date : 28th February


Services – Uttarakhand

3 - 0

Maharashtra – Mizoram

0 - 2

Date : 02nd March

Maharashtra – Kerala

1 - 0

Mizoram – Services


Date : 04th March

Kerala – Services


Uttarakhand – Mizoram


Group B Fixtures :

Date : 25th Feb

Railways – Tamil Nadu

2 - 1

Goa – Punjab

1 - 1

Date : 27th Feb

Tamil Nadu – Goa

3 - 2

West Bengal – Punjab

0 - 0

Date : 01st Mar

West Bengal – Goa

1 - 2

Punjab – Railways

0 - 0

Date : 03rd Mar

Punjab – Tamil Nadu


Railways – West Bengal


Date : 05th Mar

Tamil Nadu – West Bengal


Goa – Railways


India U-16 wins 4-1 against Lebanon

Image Courtesy : AIFF Media

Image Courtesy : AIFF Media

The Indian U-16 team put up a very good show against Lebanon by defeating them 4-1 at the Ali Sabah Al-Salem Stadium in Kuwait.

India went ahead in the 9th minute when Nuruddin fly past 30 yard screamer in to the Lebanon goal. India had to wait till the dying moments of the first half to score again through Jayananda Singh.

In the second half of the match, Lebanon through  Ali Kharoubi made it 2-1. From then on India mounted pressure and scored two goals in succession. Anirudh Thapa in the 61st minute and Bedashwor Singh in the 65th minute making it 4-1 in favor of India.

India went on to play some eye-catching football then on, but failed to increase the score line. This may work against us in terms of qualification. However, India can take heart about the performance and the talented youngsters at our disposal.

Due credits to coach Goutam Ghosh as well, under whom the India U16 team won the SAFF cup earlier this year and is now making good progress.

India will play Bhutan on 27th September.

Goals :  India – Nuruddin – 9′, Jayananda Singh – 43′, Anirudh Thapa – 61′, Bedashwor Singh – 65′

Lebanon :  Ali Kharoubi – 58th

INDIA: Dheeraj Singh (Goalkeeper), Amey Ranawade, Jayananda Singh, Amit Tudu, Jerry Lalrinzuala; Kharlukhi (Deependra Singh Negi – 46th) (Bodo Baoringdao (86th),  Prosenjit Chakraborty, Anirudh Thapa, Nuruddin (Krishna Pandit — 90th), Nijwm Muchahary, Bedashwor Singh (Captain).