Delhi Announce Squad for Final Round of Santosh Trophy

Delhi, Football, Soccer, Association, DSA, NationalDefender Abhishek Rawat will lead 20-member Delhi State Football team for the final round of the 69th Senior National Football Championship for Santosh Trophy -2014-2015 scheduled to be held at Jalandhar and Ludhiana ( Punjab ). respectively from March 1 to 15. Mid-fielder Ashu Nathani has been named as vice-captain of the team.

Ten ( 10 ) top qualifying state teams of the country will vie for top honours in the final round of the 69th Senior National Football Championship for Santosh Trophy-2014 – 2015 scheduled to be held Jalandhar and Ludhiana respectively in Punjab from March 1 to 15.

The ten participating teams have been divided in two groups of five teams each which are as :

Group- A cluster at Ludhiana – Assam, Punjab, Maharashtra,Services and West Bengal. Group- B cluster at Jalandhar -Delhi, Railways, Kerala, Goa and Mizoram

Delhi open its campaign against Railways while hosts- Punjab take on Assam in the inaugural matches scheduled on March 1.

Meanwhile, defender Abhishek Rawat will lead a 20-member Delhi State team in the championship. The Delhi Soccer Association ( DSA ) selection committee comprising of Sharafatullah-chairman, Rajiv Gupta- convenor, Hafiz Shahid, Dilip Ghosh( members ), Ranjit Tapa, Dharmender Khorala, Aftab Ashraf -coaches have named mid-fielder Ashu Nathani as vice-captain of the team after a fifteen days selection-cum-coaching camp held at Akshardham and Race course Air Force ground respectively.

The team declared by the selection committee is as under :

Goal-keepers :

Vikrant Sharma, Sandeep Singh Bisht, Rakshit

Defenders :

Abhishek Rawat ( Captain ), Pawan Joshi, Pushpender Kundu, Sonu , Vijay Kumar, Anil Bara , Sumit Rawat, Vikas Rawat

Mid-fielders :

Ashu Nathani ( Vice-captain ), Monu Chowdhery, Dheeraj Jangpangji, Ankit Sharma, Dilsher Singh Sandhu,

Forwards :

Abhay Rana, Atinder Mani, Mahinder Singgh, JohnShain.

Officials : Liquat Ali – Manager, Ranjit Thapa – Chief Coach, Dharmender Khorala, Aftab Ashraf – coaches

Reputed sports goods manufacturing company ‘ COSCO ‘ India has sponsored the kit of Delhi state team.

Leave a Reply